2017 Screen Critix Awards – The Nominees

Care & share:

The nominations for the first annual Screen Critix awards have been announced, showcasing the very best independent features and short films reviewed by Screen Critix over the last twelve months.

Put on your designer dresses and smart tuxedos, for we have announced this year’s nominations for the annual Screen Critix awards. We’ve had a busy year, reviewing short films and independent features from film makers across the globe and it’s plain to see that the standard of low-to-no budget films has risen to some heady heights. Talented up-and-coming directors, writers, cinematographers and actors can be found in all walks of life, eager to get their chance on the big stage and show the world exactly what they can do, and we at Screen Critix champion them.

With the winners being announced in one week’s time, here are the nominations.


Best Feature Film

Cloudy with a Chance of Sunshine (dir. Kevin Resnick)

LeSeurdmin (dir. Nicholas De Fina)

Short Distance (dir. Nic Barker)

The Broken Legacy (dir. Miguel Garzon Martinez)

Twin Cities (dir. Dave Ash)golden wreath 2017 Screen Critix Awards   The Nominees


Best Short Film

Coming to Terms (dir. David Bertran)

Fireflies (dir. Raouf Zaki)

Invisible Me (dir. Kristie Austin)

Leslie (dir. Alejandro Montoya Marin)

The Invention of Matthias Walden (dir. Whitney Howard)


Best Comedy Short Film

Strayed Outta Compton (dir. Jim Whipple)

The Bigfoot Hunters (dir. Matt Hausmann)

The Deja Vuers (dir. Chris Esper)

True American (dir. Jerell Rosales)

Undatement Center (dir. Chris Esper)


Best Horror/Sci-fi Short Film

Burn in Hell (dir. Jarno Lee Vinsencius)

Darkness Falls (dir. Jarno Lee Vinsencius)

Palindrome (dir. Mark Balunis)

Shallow Water (dir. Sandy Collora)

The Madame in Black (dir. Jarno Lee Vinsencius)


Best Cinematography in a Short Film

Coming to Terms – John Rosario

Darkness Falls – Jarno Lee Vinsencius

Hurricane – Andrew Messersmith

Invisible Me – Austin Michaels

Shallow Water – Edward A. Gutentag


Screen Critix Best Film Maker of 2017

Chris Esper

Jarno Lee Vinsencius

Nicholas De Fina

Nic Barker

Raouf Zaki


Join us next week when we announce the winners of the above categories, along with announcing the winners for Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Writing, Best Animation and last but not least, Best Documentary.

Good Luck to all nominated.

Love talking film? Let us know below: