2015 Academy Award winners list

Care & share:

The 2015 Academy Awards took place in the early hours and there were a few surprises in store and a few obvious winners. Find out who took home an Oscar right here.

The Best Film category was too close to call. Boyhood was the favourite to win for many, but the film which took 13 years to make was pipped at the post by the fantastic Birdman.  Other big winners on the night were Eddie Redmayne for his portrayal of Stephen Hawkings and Julianne Moore for Still Alice.academy awards

Neil Patrick Harris played the role of host for the first time and he did a splendid job throughout with his jokes and playful jabs at the celebrities in attendance. His opening number with Anna Kendrick and Jack Black was also a highlight

Here is the full list of winners in order.

Best supporting actor

WINNER: JK Simmons for Whiplash

Robert Duvall for The Judge

Ethan Hawke for Boyhood

Edward Norton for Birdman

Mark Ruffalo for Foxcatcher


Achievement in costume design

WINNER: The Grand Budapest Hotel – Milena Canonero

Inherent Vice – Mark Bridges

Into the Woods – Colleen Atwood

Maleficent – Anna B Sheppard

Mr Turner – Jacqueline Durran


Achievement in makeup and hairstyling

WINNER: The Grand Budapest Hotel – Frances Hannon, Mark Coulier

Foxcatcher – Bill Corso, Dennis Liddiard

Guardians of the Galaxy – Elizabeth Yianni-Georgiou, David White


Best foreign-language film

WINNER: Ida – Paweł Pawlikowski

Tangerines – Zaza Urushadze

Leviathan – Andrey Zvyagintsev

Wild Tales – Damián Szifrón

Timbuktu – Abderrahmane Sissako


Best live-action short film

WINNER: The Phone Call – Mat Kirkby, James Lucas

Aya – Oded Binnun, Mihal Brezis

Boogaloo and Graham – Michael Lennox, Ronan Blaney

Butter Lamp – Wei Hu, Julien Féret

Parvaneh – Talkhon Hamzavi, Stefan Eichenberger


Best documentary short subject

WINNER: Crisis Hotline: Veterans Press 1 – Ellen Goosenberg Kent, Dana Perry

Joanna – Aneta Kopacz

Our Curse – Tomasz Sliwinski, Maciej Slesicki

The Reaper – Gabriel Serra

White Earth – Christian Jensen


Achievement in sound mixing Whiplash-5547.cr2

WINNER: Whiplash – Craig Mann, Ben Wilkins, Thomas Curley 

American Sniper – John T Reitz, Gregg Rudloff, Walt Martin

Birdman – Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño, Thomas Varga

Interstellar – Gary Rizzo, Gregg Landaker, Mark Weingarten

Unbroken – Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño, David Lee


Achievement in sound editing

WINNER: American Sniper – Alan Robert Murray, Bub Asman

Birdman – Aaron Glascock, Martín Hernández

The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies – Brent Burge, Jason Canovas

Interstellar – Richard King

Unbroken – Becky Sullivan, Andrew DeCristofaro


Best supporting actress

WINNER: Patricia Arquette for Boyhood

Laura Dern for Wild

Keira Knightley for The Imitation Game

Emma Stone for Birdman

Meryl Streep for Into the Woods


Achievement in visual effects

WINNER: Interstellar – Paul J Franklin, Andrew Lockley, Ian Hunter, Scott R Fisher

Captain America: The Winter Soldier – Dan Deleeuw, Russell Earl, Bryan Grill, Daniel Sudick

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes – Joe Letteri, Dan Lemmon, Daniel Barrett, Erik Winquist

Guardians of the Galaxy – Stephane Ceretti, Nicolas Aithadi, Jonathan Fawkner, Paul Corbould

X-Men: Days of Future Past – Richard Stammers, Lou Pecora, Tim Crosbie, Cameron Waldbauer


Best animated short film

WINNER: Feast – Patrick Osborne, Kristina Reed

The Bigger Picture – Daisy Jacobs, Chris Hees

The Dam Keeper – Robert Kondo, Daisuke “Dice” Tsutsumi

Me and My Moulton – Torill Kove

A Single Life – Joris Oprins


Best animated feature film

WINNER: Big Hero 6

The Boxtrolls

How to Train Your Dragon 2

Song of the Sea

The Tale of the Princess Kaguya


Best production design The Grand Budapest Hotel

WINNER: The Grand Budapest Hotel: Adam Stockhausen, Anna Pinnock

The Imitation Game: Maria Djurkovic, Tatiana Macdonald

Interstellar: Nathan Crowley, Gary Fettis

Into the Woods: Dennis Gassner, Anna Pinnock

Mr Turner: Suzie Davies, Charlotte Watts


Achievement in cinematography

WINNER: Birdman: Emmanuel Lubezki

The Grand Budapest Hotel: Robert D Yeoman

Ida: Lukasz Zal, Ryszard Lenczewski

Mr Turner: Dick Pope

Unbroken: Roger Deakins


Achievement in film editing

WINNER: Whiplash – Tom Cross

Boyhood – Sandra Adair

The Imitation Game – William Goldenberg

The Grand Budapest Hotel – Barney Pilling

American Sniper – Joel Cox, Gary Roach


Best documentary feature

WINNER: Citizenfour – Laura Poitras, Mathilde Bonnefoy, Dirk Wilutzky

Finding Vivian Maier – John Maloof, Charlie Siskel

Last Days in Vietnam – Rory Kennedy, Keven McAlester

The Salt of the Earth – Wim Wenders, Juliano Ribeiro Salgado, David Rosier

Virunga – Orlando von Einsiedel, Joanna Natasegara


Best original song

WINNER: Glory from Selma – Lonnie Lynn (Common), John Stephens (John Legend)

The Lego Movie – Shawn Patterson (Everything Is Awesome)

Beyond the Lights – Diane Warren (Grateful)

Glen Campbell: I’ll Be Me – Glen Campbell, Julian Raymond (I’m Not Gonna Miss You)

Begin Again – Gregg Alexander, Danielle Brisebois (Lost Stars)


Best original score

WINNER: Alexandre Desplat – The Grand Budapest Hotel

Alexandre Desplat – The Imitation Game

Hans Zimmer – Interstellar

Jóhann Jóhannsson– The Theory of Everything

Gary Yershon – Mr Turner


Original screenplay

WINNER: Alejandro González Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Armando Bo – Birdman

Richard Linklater – Boyhood

E Max Frye, Dan Futterman – Foxcatcher

Wes Anderson, Hugo Guinness – The Grand Budapest Hotel

Dan Gilroy – Nightcrawler


Adapted screenplay

WINNER: Graham Moore – The Imitation Game

Jason Hall – American Sniper

Paul Thomas Anderson – Inherent Vice

Anthony McCarten – The Theory of Everything

Damien Chazelle – Whiplash


Best director

WINNER: Alejandro González Iñárritu for Birdmanbirdman 1

Richard Linklater for Boyhood

Bennett Miller for Foxcatcher

Wes Anderson for The Grand Budapest Hotel

Morten Tyldum for The Imitation Game


Best actor

WINNER: Eddie Redmayne for The Theory of Everything

Steve Carell for Foxcatcher

Benedict Cumberbatch for The Imitation Game

Bradley Cooper for American Sniper

Michael Keaton for Birdman


Best actress

WINNER: Julianne Moore for Still Alice

Marion Cotillard for Two Days, One Night

Felicity Jones for The Theory of Everything

Rosamund Pike for Gone Girl

Reese Witherspoon for Wild


Best picture

WINNER: Birdmanbirdman poster

American Sniper


The Imitation Game

The Grand Budapest Hotel


The Theory of Everything


Love talking film? Let us know below: